Wet Plate Collodion

This week was the first week I presented my FMP idea to the group and received some quick feedback from the group. One of the thing mentioned that I picked up on the most was someone said that Chan and Alan are ‘Still stuck in the past’ where in many ways yes, this is true, I also feel that they are not stuck in the past, there lifestyle isn’t in the past but when they do there hobbies and shows I can see why people would think that, which got me thinking about why the put a different act on when at shows? Does it add to the affect and make everything fit together, or do they want people to think they’re are old fashioned?

Personally, I feel it just so happens that they both found something they love and enjoy that they both haven’t given up on yet. So over time both hobbies have become a thing of the past. This is definitely something I want to show my photographs, I want to show both sides to them. I can see why people asked this as I only showed images of them performing, so it will be interesting the image of both of them they build up when seeing them in the everyday.

Something else that was mentioned was that I should try ‘Wet Plate Collodion’ in my project. I didn’t know what this was, so I went home and researched it.

“A portable photography studio in 19th century Ireland. The wet collodion process sometimes gave rise to portable darkrooms, as photographic images needed to be developed while the plate was still wet. The collodion process produced a negative image on a transparent support (glass). 

My first thoughts were ‘how the hell do I do this?’ so I researched studios that still did images like this and watched some tutorials on you-tube about the process. I found a photographer who specializes in this type of photography, and I found his blogs very interesting, I didn’t even know people did this type of thing still!!

Jack Lowe is currently undertaking one of the largest photographic projects ever undertaken, The Lifeboat Station Project. Jack is using his love of photography, the sea and the RNLI to produced an unprecedented body of work.

Using an early Victorian process — Wet Plate Collodion — He’s crafting unique photographs on glass at all 237 RNLI Lifeboat Stations in the British Isle.

This is a very interesting and inspiring project that is still ongoing. I’d love to take a portrait of Chan and Alan with this technique and it is something I am definitely going to research and look into further. I will also be keep updated with Jacks project as I now follow his project on Instagram. Ill maybe even ask Chan and Alan if they’ve ever heard of it before!

Wet Plate Collodion

Leave a Reply

